The Turkic Academy is a unique international organization established under the aegis of the Organization of Turkic States that facilitates and encourages scientific and educational cooperation among Turkic countries and communities.

In line with the statutory mandate, the Turkic Academy addresses the need for collaboration in different aspects of Turkic studies, including history, archeology, ethnology, anthropology, literature, linguistics, terminology, art, and socioeconomic issues.

Mission of Turkic Academy

The Turkic Academy serves as a regional coordination center for Turkic studies. The mission of the Turkic Academy is to facilitate the integration of the Turkic World in science and education. In this context, initiatives are undertaken to strengthen scientific and educational collaboration by forging partnerships between pertinent organizations and launching programs and projects to advance Turkic studies.

History of Turkic Academy

At the summit of Turkic Heads of State held in Nakhchivan, Azerbaijan, on 3 October 2009, Kazakh side proposed the creation of a joint scientific institution entrusted with studying the Turkic World. Based on this suggestion, “Turkic Academy” was inaugurated on 25 May 2010 in Astana under the auspices of the Ministry of Education and Science of the Republic of Kazakhstan.

The Heads of State signed the Agreement on the Establishment of the Turkic Academy at the Second Summit of the Organization of Turkic States, which took place on 23 August 2012 in Bishkek. The Turkic Academy and the Government of the Republic of Kazakhstan signed the Host Country Agreement on 16 November 2020, and ratification of the Agreement on the Establishment of the Turkic Academy by the parliaments of Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, and Türkiye was completed in 2021.

In 2022, the Turkic Academy began to work as a full-fledged international organization, receiving a full-fledged budget and international staff from the Member States. The Turkic Academy granted Hungary and Uzbekistan observer status in 2018 and 2022, respectively.

The Turkic Academy has four Member States and two Observers. The organization, headed by President Shahin Mustafayev, is financed by the contributions of the Member States. The headquarters of Turkic Academy is in Astana, the Republic of Kazakhstan.

Former presidents of the Turkic Academy were Prof. Dr. Shakir Ibrayev (2010-2014) and Prof. Dr. Darkhan Kydyrali (2014-2022).

Presidents of the Turkic Academy

Prof. Dr. Shahin Mustafayev (Azerbaijan), since 2022

Member of Azerbaijan National Academy of Sciences, Member of UNESCO’s International Institute of Central Asian Studies.

Prof. Dr. Darkhan Kydyrali (Kazakhstan), 2014-2022

Member of the National Academy of Sciences of the Republic of Kazakhstan

Prof. Dr. Shakir Ibrayev (Kazakhstan), 2010-2014

Ahmet Yesevi International Kazakh-Turkish University Representative Council Member